9/29 – Caved In

Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 3.21.05 PM

Between my internship, job, 16-credit class load, and partying I am already physically tired with the semester. That being said, I decided that a busy life is a good life*.

*This opinion of mine is rocky though because I regularly dream of pulling a Thoreau & turning to a less connected life in nature.  Reversing my cultured attitude and being able to think without compulsion sounds so freeing.*

With all these commitments and obligations, I have yet to find time to sleep or exercise. Therefore, with today, Tuesday, being my “easy” day I planned to catch up on my sleep and to go for a morning run. – It’s my easy day because I only have class 11:30-12:45 and work 1-6

I went to bed early last night, around 1AM. That was right about when Michaela and I finished binge watching Season 1 of How To Get Away With Murder. Before bed I set alarms on my iPhone for 8:36am and 8:49am. I mapped out that waking at 8:36 and getting out of bed at 8:49 would give me enough time/energy to go for a run, shower, do my regular morning routine, pack a lunch, look semi-decent & be able to hop on the T at ~10:45AM so I could make it to my 11:30 class no more than 2 minutes late.

I slept in a sports bra last night instead of bare-topped to give myself more motivation to wake up and actually go for a run. Ya know, half way there outfit wise(?)

I’m out of bed, it’s 8:52AM… though not tired, I decide it would be too much for me to go on a run. My alternative choice for a morning jog: Clear Michaela’s clutter from a section of the living room floor, do some stretches and sit-ups & persuade myself it’s equivalent.

Exercise time is over!

I showered last night and obvi didn’t sweat during this workout so I didn’t find the need to shower again. Now I have a ton of extra time, shoulda just slept in.

Oh well.  I made it on the T at 10:30 and was relieved to know I wouldn’t have to run up the Boston Common to make it to my class on time.

On the T I check my email- class canceled. So much sleeping time lost!

At the point I checked my inbox I was only 4 stopped from home so I could have gotten off and walked back to my place until it was time for work.   However, I didn’t.

I paid $2.10 for the unneeded ride and didn’t want to total my tab to $4.20 just to get into the city. Instead of going straight to Park St, wth nothing to do until 1pm now, I got off the T in the Prudential Center.

First time I’ve been to that landmark in a year.

In the Pru I went into the clothing store Free People, window-shopped there, of course (nothing there is under $28). I also went into its neighboring store, Godiva Chocolate. Since it’s my birthday month I got a free truffle from their display case.   Being fall and all, I went with the Pumpkin Cheesecake Truffle. Awesome breakfast, huh?

Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 3.24.39 PMScreen Shot 2015-09-29 at 3.25.03 PM

I got my chocolate and bounced, the Pru doesn’t offer much for me especially at 11:30AM.

From there I walk in the direction of school, taking my time for I still have almost two hours until a responsibility. With today being National Coffee Day I figured most chain coffee places would have some sort of giveaway. Therefore I popped into a Peet’s Coffee, my favorite chain coffee café, to see their offerings.

Quick reasons it’s my fave:

  1. Sympathy: After doing a 30 page Media Kit on Starbucks, I feel bad for Alfred Peet, the coffee roasting entrepreneur that had investments in Starbucks and taught the current owners his uniquely passionate style of roasting beans.
  2. Convenience: It [has Wi-Fi] is the very first thing I see when I get off the T at Park St for school; it practically flags me down to come in.
  3. Price: Peet’s prices match Starbucks for the most part but the new concept @ Peet’s is “360 Café”. Capital One Banks share the store space with some Peet’s so if you pay with a Capital One Credit Card, which I do, you get 50% off all drinks.

Anywho, Peet’s coffee is participating in national coffee day- “free” small dark roast with any pastry purchase.

I wasn’t sold on that sales pitch. Instead I caved for my first pumpkin flavored coffee of the season.

This is kind of a big deal to me because though I appreciate every season New England offers, my favorite type of clothes to wear is summer & I realllllllly don’t enjoy freezing the second I walk out the door.  So me drinking the pumpkin flavor is a reality check that winter is on its way.  Practially acknowledging the fact that I soon have to give up the high waisted shorts & cheap crop top, ugh.

Today’s weather doesn’t actually represent fall so I almost feel as if I wasted the season’s welcoming cup of joe.  Boston’s weather is thick with humidity, misty and 80 degrees.  Sooo, gross out.

I imagined being in a sweater on a cool windy day, racing inside a coffee shop for its heat when I ordered this fall’s pumpkin mix.  Whatever, I happily drank my hot creamy (soy milk) pumpkin coffee inside the Peet’s.  I took advantage of their Wi-Fi by reading online sections of “Self Reliance” by Emerson & figuring out how to pay for Spotify as a student to be able to continuously analyze the lyrics in Future & Drakes new album (such variations in internet usage, I know).

IMG_6856IMG_6857

My coffee was delicious and really made me wish that when I left Peet’s a cool breezy would sweep by me and crunchy leaves would swirl around my feet.  You know what I did instead?  Walked 25 minutes to work with a clammy forehead.  I wonder if the walk to work was so brutal today because it’s the hottest its been in two weeks, or because I’m out of shape & dehydrated from last night’s drinking or because I woke up unnecessarily early today.


I’ve actually been trying to figure out how to exploit my basic passionate for pumpkin flavored things on my blog.  This was efficient I suppose.

Some other pumpkin flavored things I’ve indulged in so far this season:

  • Pumpkin Bread:  when my mom came up to visit me on Sunday for my birthday she made her best baked-good, pumpkin spice bread.
  • Pumpkin Cookies: The office at school that I work in supplied us with sugar cookies that had pumpkin frosting on them- damn good.
  • Pumpkin Cannoli:  When I went to the North End with some friends I treated myself to some dessert on Salem St
  • Pumpkin Tea:  David’s Tea’s Fall Collection is digging strong in my heart and wallet.  I can’t get enough of their selection!  Luckily my friend bought me their Fall Sample Bundle kit so I can make loose leaf at home.  Before that though I was trying all their different pumpkin flavors.  My favorite might be the one with actual pumpkin seeds in it.

IMG_6833IMG_6830IMG_6838IMG_6839

Leave a Reply

